NEWS PAPERS IN TELANGANA BEFORE INDEPENDENCE

LODANGI SHASHIDHAR YADAV,

MASTER OF COMMUNICATION AND JOURNALISM
OSMANIA UNIVERSITY,
HYDERABAD, INDIA.

Abstract: This study has been undertaken to know about the newspapers that were published in Telangana before independence of the India. And the newspapers like Golconda and the important persons who played a major role in Independence will be discussed in a chronological order.

Index Terms - NEWSPAPERS, TELANGANA, INDEPENDENCE.

Newspaper is the sword of the people , Which reflects the contemporary issues and events in the society. It enhances the knowledge of the people and activates them socially. In Telangana newspaper evolution has above hundred years history. In Telangana some newspapers were started for spiritual preaching's and some against the Nizam's anarchistic ruling.

In 1912 Srinivas Sharma started the first telugu newspaper in Telangana from Koilkonda Mahabubnagar district. It had the 500 hundred subscribers and it was closed in two years. After in 1917 Venkat Rao started Andra Matam , A monthly newspaper published from Gowliguda , Hyderabad. This was mainly focused on the political issues and the writings were in satirical way. In 1922 August 24th Neelagiri was established by Shabniveesu Venkata Narsimha Rao as an editor. The renowned writers like Madapati Hanumantha Rao , Burgula Ramakrishna Rao and Pulijala Ranga Rao wrote the articles and poetry in this newspaper. In 1922 august 27th Telugu Patrika was started publishing from Inugarthi Manukota taluk Warangal district with 500 subscribers .

In 1926 Golakonda Patrika was started by Suravaram Pratapa Reddy as biweekly newspaper till 1946 and in 1947 it turned as daily newspaper. It raised the mortar writings on the King Koti forts of Nizam. It published the public opinions boldly and bluntly. The role of Golakonda Patrika in newspaper literature was unique. The credit of raising eminet journalists from Telangana belongs to the Golakonda Patrika. Survaram Pratapa Reddy found and exposed hundreds of Telangana poets by collecting their poetry and publishing them as Golakonda Poets Cogitation. He proved that Telangana had the wonderful and prolific writers.

Sujatha , A literature paper started by P N Sharma , Suravaram Pratapa Reddy and Madapati Hanumantha Rao together in 1927 as a monthly issue. In 1934 Deccan Kesari established bilingually (Telugu and English) by Dattatreya Sharma as editor. In 1936 Telugu Talli was started by Rachamalla Saraswathidevi from Secunderabad. And in 1937 Divyavani started publishing by Chivukuri Ayyappa Sastri.

The Nizam put the restictions on the newspaper publishing and freedom of expression. As a result there was no newspaper publishing from 1938 to 1945.

In 1945 Tarani, A monthly newspaper was started by Challa Subba Rao and in the same year Andrakesari was established by the communists. And in 1945 Gulam Mohammad started a monthly newspaper named as Mizan. He was the son in law of Khan Bahdhur Ahmed Nawabjung. It was released in telugu, english and urdu. At that English newspapers wrote in the favour of Nizam and Urdu newspapers supported the Razakars (The private militia to support Nizam rule organized by Qasim Razvi.) and only telugu newspapers writings were supported the opponents of Nizam's rule. As the Mizan had not got the support from the people they took Adavi Bapiraju as the editor and Tirumala Ramachandra, Rambatla Krishnamurti, Srinivasa

Chakravarthy and Bommakanti Subba Rao as sub editors. The writings of Adavi Bapiraju, Himabindu, Tufan, Konangi, Gonaganna Reddy were published as serisal in Mizan.

Rayyath, a non telugu newspaper was started publishing by Madapati Hanumantha Rao as an editor. It was closed because of the Razakars outrage. The renowned Telangana journalist Shoyeb Ullahkhan initially worked in Rayyath and later he started Imroz as a daily. His writings were strongly opposed the Nizam and the Razakar's mistreatings. The Razakars could not tolerate the Imroz writings, One night they assassinated and killed Shoyeb Ullahkhan brutally in his publishing house.

In 1944 Sadashiva Rao and PV Narasimha Rao (Former Prime Minister of India) started Kakatiya Patrika as the joint editors and continued for nine years.

REFERENCES

- [1] Dr Boodaraju Radhakrishna 1995, Journalism Parichayam, Vishalandra Publishing House
- [2] Madabhushi Krishna Prasad, October 2015, Bharathiya Patrikaranga Charithra, NavaChethana Publishing House.

